Rachel's new Science Fiction series - Out Now!

Devi Morris isn't your average mercenary. She has plans. Big ones. And a ton of ambition. It's a combination that's going to get her killed one day - but not just yet.

That is, until she just gets a job on a tiny trade ship with a nasty reputation for surprises. The Glorious Fool isn't misnamed: it likes to get into trouble, so much so that one year of security work under its captain is equal to five years everywhere else. With odds like that, Devi knows she's found the perfect way to get the jump on the next part of her Plan. But the Fool doesn't give up its secrets without a fight, and one year on this ship might be more than even Devi can handle.

"Bach's space opera is a fantastic, action-packed and accessible exploration of deep space. Devi is hands down one of the best sci-fi heroines I've read in a long time...Fans of Douglas Adams, Scalzi and Fforde will absolutely devour Fortune's Pawn." - RT Book Reviews (4 1/2 stars)

Get your copy now from Amazon, Amazon UK, B&N, Indiebound, Google Play, Apple iBookstore, and many others! (See the full list)

The critics say...

"A romp of a lighthearted fantasy starring an absolutely darling rogue."

- Publisher's Weekly on THE SPIRIT THIEF

"This book kicked ass, I loved the main characters, the mystery, the setting, the plot twists, I JUST LOVED IT! Perfect light sci-fi. If you like space stuff that isn't that complicated but highly entertaining, I give two thumbs up!"

- Felicia Day on FORTUNE'S PAWN

"2k to 10k is very short read, but it is entertaining as well as informative. It isn’t a stuffy How-To telling you what to do and what not to do; it’s almost a journal on writing, in a sense, detailing what works for a very successful writer. She manages to make the whole book easily digestible and the information within it, very accessible."

- Leo Cristea on 2K TO 10K

"The Spirit Thief is a work of sword and sorcery that will appeal to readers of Jim C. Hines, Karen Miller, Jon Sprunk, and Piers Anthony. It is a thrill ride of a novel, delightfully amusing, based on an original magic system, without all the lengthy character building of the larger epics. I loved it."

- Grasping for the Wind on THE SPIRIT THIEF

"Rollicking space opera starring a tough, sexy, armor-clad space chick...Lots of fun."

- Kirkus on FORTUNE'S PAWN

"Out of all the books I've read, this is BY FAR the best (and for only 99 cents, it put all those other books to shame). What the author shares about planning your writing ahead, planning your plot, and the simple process she uses is worth the price of all the other books I bought and then some. Sometimes, the simplest ideas can have the biggest impact on your life."

- Tom Corson-Knowles on 2K TO 10K

Read Rachel's Latest!